SPOILER FREE Star Wars The Force Awakens Review

It is finally here! I don’t remember being this excited for any piece of pop culture in a very very long time. My expectations and level of hype for this movie were so incredibly high, that, while the release date inched closer, I started being afraid that the new Star Wars could do nothing else but disappoint. But as we all know; fear leads to the dark side and so, I found myself super excited heading into this film. To my delight, it did not disappoint one bit.
Instead, it met all my high expectations and maybe even surpassed them (if that’s even possible). Everything about Episode VII is super cool. This movie is badass, it is funny, it is a feel good movie, it has drama, it is all around glorious!
Let me star with saying that The Force Awakens is cast perfectly. I love everybody in it. From the fresh faces to the returning veterans, all the actors bring their best. All the new lead characters are likable and pretty amazing . Finn is a great addition to the universe, he is very reminiscent of a young Denzel Washington. I loved his character and performance. His female counterpart Rey is equally great. She is a very cool lead. I imagine nerdy girls all over the world going; “Yeah!” and I applaud this very much. If I had a daughter and I took her to see this movie, Rey is the heroine that I would feel comfortable for her to identify with.
Speaking of being able to identify with the cast; the diversity in ethnicity and sex really jumps out at you in a good way, everybody is well represented. Not only is there a good ratio of male and female badass characters, there is also a nice mix of different races and even dialects represented in this movie.
Focusing on the bad guys in Episode VIII, there is Kylo Ren. Kylo Ren is a perfect villain, ultra-cool and a character that you love to hate. His voice alone is an instant classic for me. I really enjoyed the fact that The Force Awakens goes to some dark places with this character. The mature audience will definitely approve. We also get tons of Stromtrooper action. Ahhh the Stormtroopers, I love the Stormtroopers. Episode VIII gives us the coolest Stromtroopers to date. They can handle themselves, they look badass and they have an incredibly cool leader.
The action scenes overall are very entertaining. We get impressive blaster fights, we get intense light saber duels, and the dogfights between X-wings and TIE fighters are just spectacular. The TIE fighter sound alone will make the true nerds among us go all giddy.
Taking a step back and looking at the movie as a whole, I really appreciate how familiar and Star-Warsy everything feels. I think that this movie is very different from the prequel trilogy. I love how gritty and based in the real world everything looks, compared to the sterile look of the prequel trilogy. This is probably due to the fact that J.J. Abrams made a point of using blue screen photography only if it was truly necessary. And I really welcome this approach, the sets look worn-in and all the non digital alien creatures look very appealing and interesting.
The only negative thing that I have to say about this movie is that I didn’t like the fact that Finn was way too comfortable wielding a lightsaber for a first-timer. But this is just a minor nitpicky thing to say about a movie that gives you more than two hours of pure fun. Because once you feel the end of the movie nearing, you will find yourself wishing for more, much much more. And if after 136 minutes a film leaves you wanting for more, that is an achievement on its own. I cannot wait for EpisodeVIII.

This entry was posted in Movies and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to SPOILER FREE Star Wars The Force Awakens Review

  1. boudewijndanser says:

    Couldn’t have written it better myself! I liked it on the second watch too, gave me more “time” too look at all the eye candy. And also I thought it was cool how they gave the bad guy emotions. And like you said it’s rare for a movie to live up to the hype ( online and the expectations you create for yourself…).

    Like

Leave a Reply

